Try to be consistent. Everything else will fall in place.

Try to be consistent. Everything else will fall in place.

My thoughts ...

·

3 min read

That statement is way too hard to follow, let me tell you why and how long it took for me to understand the meaning of it.

When I made a career transition to a developer from an accountant & part-time uber-driver, I was the kind of person who believed in perfection(Ya I know people still do). In other words, I thought when someone is perfect at some task, then he/she would be able to just do it, for example, provide a service, build a solution to a problem, explain or teach to someone, be a storyteller, not to use StackOverflow every time and code without googling, etc. It took me years to understand perfectionism, and I wish if I knew or someone told me about what exactly it is and how to deal with it.

It's a kind of quality or skill where one person is so good at their work or task and you wouldn't need improvement. I was always looking for this moment in all my tasks, all my life. It turned out that it never exists or ever will. So, nobody is or will be perfect unless they keep at it and be consistent with the type of activity they are trying to do. Let's say you want to be a singer, you will always sing, there is never going to be a period in a person's life that they stop and say something like 'I don't need to practice to sing well'.

When I tried learning to code for the first time, I had the same mindset like I need to be perfect at this. I also thought in order to code or build a program or an app, you will need to understand everything about how to code. By continuing the perfection model, I was taking hours, days, months to learn and learn and not build anything. Moreover, I was forgetting things that I've learned. Guess what?? I never created something that will be called a product or app.

But thanks to the development community on YouTube. They made me realize that in this industry all you need to worry about is being consistent first with your goals/plans rather than trying to be perfect first. When I knew this, it blew my mind!

Well, this was my mindset before and it is not necessary that everyone has this kind of conditioning in their brain. If yes, you had it or still have this problem or belief, you can always let me know by reading this page, or liking it or disliking this post, commenting, and also by sharing it by how you dealt with it. It will help others to understand different opinions because I guess people who are starting up need to know this.